Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Fighter

Leave a comment

14330936_1808483679367107_1653055207_n.png.jpeg

Eleven when I nearly drowned.

He was watching.

I stepped on a sea urchin while snorkeling.

Spikes dug into my skin

like shark teeth,

currents of electricity

swam through my foot

as water swallowed me.

In my left temple, a pulse:

my brain pounding.

I could not breathe.

 

Thirteen when I met him;

swore I loved him.

He put his hands around my waist,

“A bit chubby here.”

His words stung like brine

pushing me underwater

deep into a chasm.

Seaweed groped my legs

coiling around my chest.

I could not breathe.

 

Fifteen when I learned to float;

tossed his words of shrapnel

into the ocean’s abyss.

I’m made of seaglass

Jagged, tumbled

Still shining.

Broke harpoons on my skin,

Snapped spears on my neck.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

