Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Change is needed…

Leave a comment

14256251_312388625782926_643649657_n.png.jpeg

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living.” – Gail Sheehy

 

I am personally someone who loves stability. I like to know what my schedule is hour-by-hour, what events are coming up at least a week beforehand, and that I will not have to be scrambling through the day with lots of changes that will mess up my routine. Though stability isn’t a bad thing, it’s even more important that we come to accept change and how beneficial it is to our being. Think about it: We wouldn’t live in the world we live in today if we did not embrace change.
Gradually, I’ve come to accept change based on Sheehy’s reasoning. If we don’t change, we never really learn how to live. We end up just walking around as human beings, going through monotony and trying to live on the safe side. But change is all about taking risks, and the biggest risks pay off. One particular example in my life pertains to the dance duet style I chose last year. Though it was clearly out of my comfort zone (my friends and teachers admitted that it definitely was not a style they expected me to compete with), I flew with it. I experimented with it and had the most fun making that change and seeing how it would work out. That experience left me feeling more empowered and matured as a dancer and a person. Life cannot exist without change.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

