Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

“Never judge someone without knowing the whole story. You may think you understand, but you don’t.”

Leave a comment

13936787_294290794259376_1330476589_n

“Never judge someone without knowing the whole story. You may think you understand, but you don’t.” -Anonymous

You don’t know me and I don’t know you. That is the unfortunate truth. And as much as I would love to get to know each and every one of you (I really would!!), we will never truly know a person’s full story. Even if we do, we may not know the whole thing. Not only is it important to respect a person’s privacy, but we should not judge them if they decide not to share their story.

For me, these cases have never truly hit home. I do, however, know people who chose to judge others based on appearances or what they first believe. It’s not that they want to be mean or insulting to someone, it just comes out of their mouth, sometimes on accident. Situations like those make me uncomfortable. I know the importance of seeing the good in people, and I always try my best to do that. I give people second or third chances because everyone deserves that. We don’t know a person’s full story, so it isn’t fair that we judge them on what little we do know.

In those cases where we do know what is going on, it still is important not to judge. Someone may be going through a rough time, and the last thing he or she needs are judgmental stares. My friends always know when I’m having a bad day. They may not ask me why, but they do not judge me because of how I behave around them. Instead they give me a warm hug, which is definitely something that is always needed in a person’s life. (Besides, who doesn’t like a hug from their friends?). We should be there for others as a kind friend, not as a judgmental peer.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

