Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Live life to the fullest everyday, without regrets.

Leave a comment

13535714_275729886115467_1650592322_n.jpg

Last summer, I went out of town for a program right when there was a lot of drama in my friend group. Things were really getting heated, and I was so worried that that was all I could think about during the first half of my trip. I didn’t even think about the new people I met at that program, who were really nice and I liked because our experiences were so different that it was interesting. I realized this halfway through my trip, and decided to forget about what was happening at home and to just enjoy my trip and being with these new friends.

Those few days were the highlight of my summer that year, but I realized during those days that I wasn’t a really close member of that friend group because I had been so worried about other things, that I didn’t really hang out with them, so I had only 5 days to become closer with them, and, of course, I ended up being isolated, in a sense, because I didn’t know them as well. I really regretted, and still regret, not focusing on where I was at and who I was with to make memories. It was supposed to be a trip where I could have left my problems behind at home, but instead I took them with me, and it just made a mess for me.

That’s exactly why I feel that we need to live in the moment and constantly make new memories, not just remember old ones. There is something wonderful about every day, and as long as you live in the present, you can find it and remember it. However, if your mind is stuck in the past, you won’t be able to find it.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

