Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Casual Relaxation

Leave a comment

13453545_1186122378104528_1496456683_o.jpg

Eyes open. Body rested. I rub my eyes to see my bedroom in broad daylight, bright golden rays that I seemed to be seeing for the first time. It is 9:30 AM instead of my usual 6:30 AM call time that I had become accustomed to during the school year. It is the first day of summer vacation, and reliving past summers wasted doing nothing, I am absolutely determined to make everyday worth remembering.

 

Off the bat, I call my friends Naomi and Sally.

“GUYS!” I scream into the phone. “Are you free today? We have to do something absolutely amazing! Maybe we can drive up to San Francisco and walk around the entire city. We can go south to spend a day at the beach. Or maybe we can even book a reservation to go skydiving somewhere…”

 

The other two ends of the phone are static.

 

Naomi lets out a soft sigh.

“Girl, I was just planning on binge-watching the rest of this show.”

 

I hear a quiet grunt from Sally’s end. Of course Sally is probably still half asleep.

“Yeah…ugh, I’m sorry,” Sally mumbles. “I wanted to really just relax today. No elaborate plans, no money spent. Just a nice day to do nothing.”

 

I gasp in disbelief. But it makes sense. We just spent the past seven months studying, scheduling plans, and running from place to place. I nodded with an understanding sigh and resorted to spend the day by taking my dog to the park and drinking a cup of Jamba Juice.

 

Although I did not get to hang out with my friends the way that I imagined, I realized something. In some ways, summer is the best time for you to discover yourself and celebrate your achievements from the past year. Forget elaborate plans and lavish vacations! All I really need is some casual relaxation.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

