Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

“Some memories are unforgettable, remaining ever vivid and heartwarming!”

Leave a comment

13330343_603185663177458_289050716_n

Some memories are unforgettable, remaining ever vivid and heartwarming!” – Joseph B. Wirthlin

Back in elementary school, I was part of a group of friends that really enjoyed to play “pretend” and it was quite complicated. Everyday at recess, we would take turns playing different roles in what we called “the family.”

My most common role was a cat. My job was to stay in the house and watch over the “playful” dogs as the other people when out to the field to collect supplies, or grass. Even though it did get a bit boring just watching on a pole, I enjoyed it because I felt connected and included. A few months later, I moved and was forced to break away from the family I had at school.

Looking back, I feel like the game with a bit childish but it made me understand what it felt like to have people incorporate you and pay attention to you, something that I wasn’t very knowledgeable of. It was these memories that made me truly understand friendship and I still wish I could relive them every single day.

One time in my new school, I tried to reenact the scene with my friends. Although it was in completely different settings and different people, I felt like I was able to share some of my past with them. Yes, it was a bit awkward but we bonded closer as a group because of this. I’m really happy to have been able to revisit some of my favorite memories.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

