Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Your friends are your light…

Leave a comment

13249564_567012116794147_1114508039_n

Knowing when you are in an unhealthy friendship is probably the most important part of any relationship. Sometimes it’s hard to tell while other times, it may be so blatantly obvious, but you still can’t see it because you are afraid of losing a friend.

Friends are supposed to be your light in the dark, supporting you through life. They aren’t supposed to discourage you from trying new things. They should be on your side, provide you with advice when you are going through a rough time, and protect you from making bad decisions. The tough part about being a friend is that it is hard to know when you are being discouraging, or a conscience for someone you care about. Nevertheless, you should talk to your friends if you are ever in an uncomfortable position with them. A true, caring friend will understand and help you.  

I have a friend that I met in Junior High. Because of our similarities, we became close friends in a short period of time. We share everything with each other and she is the best friend I can ever ask for. Because of how close we are, it is often hard for me to see the pessimist that often appears within her. She often discourages me from doing things I want to do, but I often cannot tell if it is because she wants what is best for me or not. Talking things out is the what helped the reason why I still consider her to be my best friend. I know that she cares about me and only wants to help me, because that is what a true friend is. Nevertheless, there are always situations where the decision is yours and it all comes down to what you want. Your friends are there to help guide you down the right path.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

