Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

To become closer friends, be open with each other.

Leave a comment

13184661_563438263818199_454805224_o

To become closer friends, be open with each other.

Earlier this week, I talked about how I was afraid to tell my friends personal secrets because of how vulnerable I feel after that, since friendships rarely last forever. Well, today I’m going to continue with the story of that friend that I told my problems to.

Initially, I regretted telling her, because at that time, I’d only known her for a little under a year, and we didn’t see each other or talk that much. I felt like I was sharing too much of my problems even though we weren’t that close, and I was worried that I was just burdening her with my problems. But she never complained about it, and only thought of making me feel better. I still felt guilty, but telling her about what happened with me and my friends only made me realize how desperate I was to talk to someone about it, so I found that I couldn’t even stop myself. I felt so vulnerable and weak in front of her, so for a while after that, I was really nervous talking to her (she acted normal after though).

I stopped feeling bad when she told me about how worried she was for her future because she wanted to do so many things but at the same time, she wasn’t sure of anything. I realized that wanted to help her feel better, not because she helped me once (though it was part of the reason), but because it hurt to see her upset. I tried my hardest to let her know that she would be okay, and help her get her mind off her worries. I don’t know how much I actually helped, but she said that she felt a lot better after talking to me.

After that time, I started relying on her more. Trusting her more with what I couldn’t tell even my closest friends, and she told me her worries too. We opened up to each other, and it led to us understanding each other more. Because of that, we were able to become closer as friends. Today, I think of her as one of my best friends, and I don’t regret telling her about my problem back then, because now I found a real friend.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

