Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Enjoy the Glow of Good Health

Leave a comment

12939463_822009037903956_1205400315_n

To enjoy the glow of good health, you must exercise.

I remember back in elementary school when I was physically and emotionally weak. On top of catching colds every other week, I was often called out for being the “sick butterfly” and was pushed away due to my sickness by my close friends. Because I was always tired and slow, my parents didn’t push me to exercise. To them, going to school everyday was already a big accomplishment. Starting from second grade, my mom’s friend introduced her to this basketball opportunity. The school that I had been going to needed players for their team and my mom happened to hear about. Although they were very skeptical about it, they eventually agreed to let me join. From then on, I went to practices three days per week.

The change was gradual but I found myself becoming more and more healthy. My appetite was getting better, my skin tone was warmer, and I felt happier. The short practices helped my body get stronger and it helped me get stronger too. At school, I was able to talk more with my good friends because I wasn’t sick that much anymore and I knew that it was the exercise that had helped me.

Something as small as running on the streets for 10 minutes everyday at dawn or dusk can really make a difference. It’s small but after you do it for a while, you look back at the path you have taken and you can see the changes. Think about it. Not everyone is out exercising like you. You have the determination to push yourself to do something very tiring when you are already exhausted. You are strong enough to push yourself to do something extra that no one asked you to do. The sweat and tears I put into basketball changed my body and changed me for the better. Give it a try. Strength your body so you can go out there and do the things you dream about. Run to the future!

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

