Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Don’t Let Others Bring You Down

Leave a comment

12483919_778646925573501_271952209_n.jpg

It scares me sometimes how quickly friendships that were once as strong as steel can fade as quickly as fog when the sun comes out. I’ve been alone for a lot of my life, so I’ve always wanted to surround myself with a lot of friends, so I wouldn’t be alone anymore. But I learned that it doesn’t work that way. Even though I had a lot of friends, none of them were close. I found that I couldn’t trust them with anything. Worse yet, it was hard to stay close with everyone, and most of the friendships faded after a while. My loneliness didn’t get better, and I couldn’t tell anyone anything because I didn’t know them well enough to trust them with my problems, and I felt that I would just be a burden if I told them. I sometimes still feel that way. But now, I started focusing on keeping only one or two close friends, and I feel so comfortable and carefree around them. I also have started to feel like these friends will really listen to me and won’t think of me as a burden. I’m still scared that these friendships won’t last, and I’ll be alone again. But now, there are people who care for me and my well-being, people who I can talk to honestly and freely. For now at least, I’m not alone.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

