Silver Lining

A loving community finding the silver lining.

Treat Others the Way You Want to be Treated

Leave a comment

12511573_538377059658319_2097966250_n.jpg

 

You’ve probably heard this phrase a gazillion times since you were young, but that’s  because it’s TRUE. I think people often forget how important it is to treat others properly, and be kind to them because they’ll treat you the same way in return. If you don’t treat others with respect, then you’re just asking for trouble. I make this mistake all the time. When I first met one of my friends, I didn’t like her at all. My first impression of her was definitely not a good one, but I tried being nice to her anyways. However, she always acted indifferent towards me and said negative things, but to my other friends she acted so nice and caring. I wondered what I had done to her to make her act this way. I held a grudge against her for the longest time, until one day my friend told me that she had said I was rude to her behind my back. I was so surprised– I thought I had acted so nice to her, until I realized that maybe my true intentions hadn’t come across. My original negative image of her had stuck with me, and had made me unconsciously treat her in a bad way. Once I realized my mistake, I decided it was time to mend our relationship, or else it would just get worse. From the next day onwards, I started being more conscious towards her feelings and actions, and I realized that I truly had been rude towards her. I started acting kinder and more inclusive, and she was too. Now, we are really close friends and will never break apart. So take my story into account- don’t make the same mistake I did. Treat others the way you want to be treated, and you won’t regret it.

Author: silverlining

A community dedicated to spreading happiness and comforting those in need.

Leave a Reply

